Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

It’s the Saturday night of a three-day weekend, and I’ve solicited the help of my younger brother to make a cookie recipe I’ve been keeping open in a tab on my phone for the past month. But this is just one tab among the other twenty or so tabs I always have open, half of which are always baking recipes I’m waiting to have the time to try out. Is that abnormal? People seem to always be horrified at the sight of my Safari app…

IMG_5755.JPG

Anyway, my brother and I were gathering the ingredients for this recipe when I realized we were out of brown sugar. At this point, I had a dilemma: wait another week to make this recipe after my next trip to the grocery store, or make a quick journey to Stop & Shop at 9pm. My mom urged us to do the latter, so the two of us zoomed off. The “trip to get a bag of brown sugar” ended up becoming a “trip to stock up on chocolate, ice cream and gelato.”

IMG_5754.JPG

My brother isn’t a baker. In fact, I’m pretty sure the only reason he agreed to help me make these was that he wanted to make me happy so I’d let him eat them. Well, his amateur skills became evident almost immediately when I told him to measure out 1 1/4 cup of light brown sugar, and he dumped it into my bowl of dry ingredients. After 2 tedious minutes of scooping the sugar out with a spoon, I realized that he had used the 1/2 cup and not the 1/4 cup. Face-smack once again.

IMG_5751.JPG

img_5752

Despite the ups and downs of this brother-sister baking experience, these cookies turned out just as I had hoped: thick, round, big, and chewy. The chocolate chunks are truly a must, as they provide for a very different cookie experience than chocolate chips. The peanut butter also makes for a nice twist to the traditional chocolate chip cookie.

IMG_5756.JPG

Recipe (modified from Just a Taste) – makes about 2 dozen large cookies

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups light brown sugar, packed
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups chocolate chunks
  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  2. In a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the butter until creamy. Beat in both sugars. Add eggs one by one, scraping down the sides with a rubber spatula after each addition.
  3. Beat in the peanut butter and vanilla.
  4. Stir in the flour mixture in three parts. Stir in the chocolate chunks.
  5. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  6. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out large balls of dough and place them 3 inches apart on the baking sheets. Press a few chocolate chunks into the top of each ball, if desired.
  7. Bake for 20-22 minutes, until the edges are golden but the middle is barely done. Allow the cookies to settle on the hot baking pan for 5 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.

*Note: I made these in the fall, so my kitchen was quite cold. If the dough is too soft, stick it in the refrigerator between batches.

IMG_5757.JPG

Leave a Reply

